Hemley Receives 2009 Bridgman Award

The International Association for the Advancement of High Pressure Science and Technology awarded Russell Hemley, director of the Geophysical Laboratory, the 2009 Bridgman Award. Hemley received the honor in Tokyo, Japan, on July 27th.

The Bridgman Award is presented at the association's conferences "to a person who has made outstanding contributions to this field." The award is named for P. W. Bridgman who won the Nobel Prize in Physics in 1946 for his discoveries in high-pressure physics and for inventing many high-pressure techniques.

Previous winners include Francis Birch, Francis Bundy, Sergei Stishov, Vladimir Fortov, Neil Ashcroft, and Ho-kwang Mao (from the Geophysical Laboratory)