CDAC Summer School - 2005

Photos from the 2005 CDAC Summer School

Announcing the First CDAC Summer School

June 1-3, 2005

Advanced Photon Source, Argonne National Laboratory

The CDAC Summer School had been established to provide an introduction for graduate students and postdoctoral researchers to high pressure-temperature materials research. We aim to explore the chemical and physical fundamentals of matter at high densities, and illustrate how static and dynamic experiments, along with condensed matter theory, can provide a means to understand the changes that take place in matter under extreme conditions. Presentations will be made within the context of key materials and measurement capabilities that are crucial to stockpile stewardship, and this will form a linking conceptual thread that will run throughout the lectures. The series of topics to be presented in the CDAC Summer School form a coherent introduction to the field of high pressure-temperature research that is not generally taught in universities and will provide a valuable background for students new to the field, regardless of the career paths students might pursue.

Lecturers for the School included:

  • Neil Ashcroft - Cornell University
  • Yogendra M. Gupta - Institute for Shock Physics, Washington State University
  • Raymond Jeanloz - University of California-Berkeley
  • Chi-chang. Kao - National Synchrotron Light Source, Brookhaven National Laboratory
  • Adam Schwartz - Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
  • Larry Fried - Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory
  • Yusheng Zhao - Los Alamos National Laboratory
  • Burkhard Militzer - Carnegie Institution of Washington
  • Paul Chow - HPCAT/Advanced Photon Source
  • Michael Hu - HPCAT/Advanced Photon Source
  • Ho-kwang Mao - Carnegie Institution of Washington
  • G. W. Collins - Livermore National Laboratory
  • Marcus Knudson - Sandia National Laboratory
  • Dana Dlott - University of Illinois
  • David Funk - Los Alamos National Laboratory
  • Kimberly Budil - Department of Energy/NNSA

2005 CDAC Summer School Attendees

School Time Schedule Wednesday, 6/1 Thursday, 6/2 Friday, 6/3
8:00-8:50 Ashcroft I - Fundamentals of Matter at High Densities Ashcroft II - Special Topics Zhao - High Pressure Neutron Diffraction
9:10-10:00 Gupta I - Introduction to Shock Compression Schwartz - Actinide Physics and Chemistry Militzer - First Principles Simulations
10:20-11:10 Jeanloz - Static and Dynamic Compression/Overview of Key Materials Fried - Computational Chemistry and Simulations Chow - Applications of X-Ray Spectroscopy: Electronic Excitations
11:30-12:20 Kao I - Synchrotron Radiation Kao II - Fundamentals of X-ray Spectroscopy Hu - Application of X-ray Spectroscopy: Nuclear Resonant Scattering
2:00-2:50 Mao - Static High Pressure Techniques: Diffraction Methods Gupta II - In-Situ Measurements with Shock Compression Techniques Departures
3:10-4:00 Collins - Laser Shock Compresion Funk - Chemical Dynamics  
4:20-5:10 Dlott - Table Top Shocks and Fast Spectroscopic Methods Knudson - Shock Compression and Pulsed Power Methods  
6:00 Dinner (Guest House) Cocktail Hour  
7:00   School Banquet

Budil - Stewardship Science


CDAC Summer School Lecture Schedule - Updated 5/18/05 (pdf)

Applications for attendance were due April 15, 2005. For further information about the CDAC Summer School please contact Stephen Gramsch , CDAC Coordinator.

There will be a limited number of spaces available for senior scientists to attend the school lectures at their own expense. Please contact the CDAC Coordinator for further information.

To view a PDF of the original announcement, click here